Why do we ask access permission for Google Drive, Calendar and Gmail?
Have you ever wondered why Happeo asks access permissions for apps like Drive, Calendar or Gmail? You read a high level overview below, or gain a more thorough explanation in this doc, which you can share with your colleagues.
Happeo is a tool built to leverage your usage of G Suite, which means that Happeo can be seen as an expansion of your existing Google services. In order to be able to do so, we obviously need to connect with your Google account. As we understand that this may lead to some concerns, we will explain why we're asking for these permissions.
- By granting Happeo access to your Google environment, it enables the search function to find results from not only within Happeo, but also from your Drive, Calendar and Gmail environments. You can read more about this in our article about the search function of Happeo.
- The access permission allows Happeo to display content located within the G Suite environment in certain widgets, for example: files from a Google drive folder or a calendar event.
- An important note here is to clarify that Happeo only requests permission to allow you to view or edit (depending on the settings) your documents and folders in Happeo. Those settings are inherited from the source of the content. This applies to Google drive items and Calendar events, access and view permission remain the same as it is set in Google. So even though Happeo asks for permission, it would still only be you, the user, who is able to access the files.
Happeo is asking for quite a few permissions, and the wording in the request often tend to scare users. So what exactly can Happeo do when it asks to see, edit, create and delete all of your Google Drive files?
- See. Giving viewing access permissions to Happeo enables users to display content in widgets, such as the document, folder, file list or recent files widget.
- See. The access also allows Happo to extend the search to content stored in drive when the user is looking for specific content in the search bar.
- Edit. Giving edit access permissions to Happeo also allows users to add drive content to channels, in posts or by connecting a folder to a channel.
- Edit. The edit permissions also allow you to open and edit your files directly from within Happeo, without having to navigate to your Drive first.
- Create. The creation permission will allow you to start a new document. No need to go to Docs, Sheets or Slides. Just click on the icon for a new Folder, Doc, Sheet, Slide or Form and start a new one from scratch or a template, directly within Happeo.
- Delete. The deletion permission only comes into play for folders, where from within Happeo you have the opportunity to remove files, enabling you to keep your folders tidy.
- See. By enabling viewing permissions for Happeo, the search engine will be able to display search results from your calendar events.
- See. Additionally these rights will allow your colleagues to view your availability (if they have such access in Google) and directly schedule meetings with you from within Happeo.
- Edit. Enabling edit permissions for calendar will allow you to create events to your calendar directly from Happeo, or adjust existing meetings.
- Share. Happeo offers you the ability to be able to share a calendar with your co-workers, so you can easily keep track of deadlines together, from within Happeo.
- Delete. The term delete permanently sounds very negative, but this actually means that you'll be able to remove meetings like you normally are able to do from your calendar. Since Calendar doesn't have a bin, it's called "permanently delete".
- See. In the case of Gmail access permissions, it enables Happeo to display content from your Gmail inbox. Here the same rule applies, namely that all permissions set in Gmail are respected by Happeo
- See. By enabling access for Happeo, the search bar has the ability to display elements from the user’s linked mailbox in the search results.
Activity History of your Google Apps
- The wording is chosen by Google here, but it should really say "Activity History of Documents in Drive". The activity history of your Google Apps means that Happeo will be able to display who created a document, who edited it, when they edited it, and who shared a document with whom. Happeo displays this data the same way you can currently view that in Drive.
We hope that this explains why we are asking for which permissions. We put the safety and security of you and your data first, and you can rest assured that we are very careful with the access you are granting to Happeo.
Should you choose to not grant some of the permissions that we request, Happeo will be unable to provide you with some or any of its services.
If you are still unsure of these permissions, please reach out to your Happeo contact person or support for more information.