Difference between Google Groups and Organisational Units

In Happeo you have both google groups and organisational unit this article explains the difference between the two

Use access groups to turn on services

In the Google Admin console, administrators can turn off an organisational unit’s access to Google services. When some users in that organisation need a service, such as Google Drive, you move the users to another organisation that has Google Drive turned on.

With an access group, you create a group of users and turn on the service for the group. Each member can access the service, even if their organisation has the service turned off. If you sync your LDAP directory, access groups offer flexibility within your OU structure.

For example, turn on Google Drive and YouTube for a group of users across your marketing and sales teams. Or give a group of users within your IT organisation access to AppMaker. Groups can include users from any organisation in your account.

Organisational units

Screenshot 2018-12-27 at 10.27.51

With an access group  Google Drive is turned off for Organisations 1 and 2

But a group of users within Organisations

Screenshot 2018-12-27 at 10.27.39

1 and 2 can access Google Drive 

Comparison of groups and organisations

Screenshot 2018-12-19 at 10.08.19 (2)

Organisational Units

Happeo uses organisational units to manage the licensing of users and user access. In the Admin Settings under Users you will find an overview of all your organisational units and the users under each organisational unit. Organisational unit are managed from Google Admin console.

In the Google Admin console initially all your users and devices are placed in a single organisational unit. Google Admins can create as many organisational units as they want—either at the same level or in a hierarchy. Each child inherits settings from its parent, which can be customised. Changing a setting at a higher level changes the setting for all sub-organisations that inherit that setting. Custom settings, however, remain unchanged.

Screenshot 2018-12-19 at 09.44.11 (2)

When organisational units licensed or unlicensed this effects all users in that organisational unit.

Learn more about how the organisational units work here and the FAQ here.

Google Groups

Happeo uses Google Groups to manage user permissions for Channels and Pages. By using Groups in this way, whenever a user is added or removed from a Group they will receive the correct permissions for Happeo Channels and Pages.

Screenshot 2018-12-19 at 10.15.07 (1)

How access groups work

  • Groups turn on user access to G Suite core services and Google additional services, such as App Maker and YouTube. Groups can’t turn off user access to a service that’s turned on for an organisation.
  • Groups cannot be used to turn on access to Marketplace or SAML apps.
  • An access group can contain users from any organisational unit. Access groups can also contain other access group (nested groups).
  • You must create access groups in the Admin console, Google Cloud Directory Sync, or Directory API. Then you can edit the groups in those tools or Google Groups for Business.

Learn more about how the Google Groups work here.