Pages with multiple languages
You can create multilingual pages easily, you only need to remember couple of things when adding language versions:
- Different language versions of the page inherit the primary language content by default.
- By changing the default content of a Widget for example the page will get unpublished.
- If user has selected a language version in which certain pages are not published, viewers won't see these pages in the navigation.
Alright, now that you know those 3 things let's see how to get started with languages.
Add primary and secondary languages
First you need to add the primary and secondary languages to your page. And don't worry, these can be changed later on. After you have added primary language and at least one secondary language, you'll see the language selection button appearing on the top right corner of the page.
Editing language content
You can now see the current editing language on every top right corner of Widgets and hero. Also you can see the language next to the Page Group name and Page names. It's easy to remember that everything that has that language label can be translated. Below is a list of what can be translated:
- Page group name
- Page name
- Hero text
- Hero image
- Widget header
- Widget content
As you can see from the list, the rows and widget ordering cannot be translated - only the content. This means that if you remove or add a widget or row in a language version it will affect all language versions.
Now that you added languages to your page, let's focus on publishing and unpublishing pages. You have 2 options: publish language or publish all languages. If you simply click publish, it will publish the language you have currently selected. By pressing publish all languages, you'll publish all language versions of that page.
Important: When you edit a secondary language of a published page, that language version will automatically unpublish itself.
Removing a language
Removing a language happens from the "Manage Languages" section (the same place where you added them). From here you can remove or change the primary language. If you remove a language, that language version will not be deleted. You can restore the language version simply by adding it back.
Remembering selected language.
Happeo remembers your selected language. When you have selected a language, close and open Happeo again, you'll automatically open the language you previously selected.