User Role Permissions and Differences

In this article, you will learn what user roles are and the differences between the abilities of each role within your Happeo intranet

The user licences and roles

Happeo has four different levels of user licenses:

  1. Admin
  2. Normal
  3. Google Deskless
  4. Unlicensed

This determines the level of access that a user has to the Happeo platform. In addition, there are four different user roles for Pages and Channels.

In general, the user roles within Happeo include:

  1. Admin
  2. Author
  3. Owner
  4. Editor
  5. Participant
  6. Viewer

Admin

In an environment, there is at least one user with Administrator rights, which means they have

access to the Happeo Platform Administration

sections, controlling topics such as access, security, permissions and analytics.

Additionally, Platform Admins can access a so-called “Admin Mode”. This enables them to adjust the settings of any channel and content of a page. You can read more about this by browsing our Admin Guide

Channels

Owner

The user who has created the channel (the owner) has the ability to add users and user groups (Google groups). The owner also has the ability to assign editors.

When a user requests to join the Channel, the owner gets an email notification. The owner can also assign user permissions and adjust additional settings such as:

  • Basic settings (name, description, hashtags, etc.)
  • Tools (discussion, files, calendar, etc.)
  • Integrations (Slack, Google Chat, etc.)
  • Discover (who has the ability to discover the Channel)
  • Restrictions (posting and commenting restrictions)

When the Channel has posting and commenting restrictions turned on, the owner is still able to post and comment.

Moreover, the owner can create post drafts and collaborate with the Channel editors before posting and can post announcements to the Channel. You can read more about Channels in our article called Channel Owner Guide

Editor

Editors are able to add Google users/groups, assign permissions and set Channel settings.

When posting and commenting restrictions are turned on, the editor is still able to post and comment. Editors also have the ability to create post drafts and collaborate with other editors before posting and also post announcement Posts to the Channel.

Participant

Participants are able to post and comment on the Channel as long as the posting and commenting restrictions are set appropriately. 

These restrictions can be altered by navigating to:

  1. Channel settings
  2. Scroll down to restrictions

The types of posting and commenting restrictions include:

  • Anyone can post and comment
  • Anyone can post and comment, but posting an announcement is restricted to channel editors
  • Anyone can comment, but posting is restricted to channel editors
  • Only channel editors can comment and post

Pages

Author

The author is the initial creator of the page group and is also assigned the role of owner by default. No rights are attached to the title of the author, however.

Owner

The owner has full editor rights to change the content and widgets displayed on the Page. They can archive the Page and they also have the ability to provide access to other users to view or edit the page. You can read more about Pages in the Page Owner Guide

Editor

The editor also has full editor rights to change the content and widgets displayed on the Page. They also have the ability to archive the page and to provide access to other users to view or edit the page. 

Viewer

The users with the role of “viewer” only have the ability to view the content of the page.