Update Google Workspace Users and Groups

Here you will learn how to update Google Workspace users and groups

Happeo keeps all user data up-to-date, but sometimes there might be a change to a user which is not propagated to Happeo. There may be multiple reasons for this, most notably the change of Happeo synchronisation admin rights. In these cases, it's handy to update all users manually.

How to update all users manually

To update all users manually, you need to have admin permissions. Once or if you have admin permissions you can open up the admin panel and go to:

  1. User management
  2. Select Google Workspace settings
  3. Click on "Sync all users" from the top menu

The update may take up to 4 hours to complete.

Update Google Workspace Users and Groups 1

How to update group members

Every time a group is added to a Page or a Channel, it will be updated and added to the update cycle. This update makes sure that all group members are correct, including nested group members. The group sync cycle runs continuously, but may still take up to 24 hours to complete. Usually, this is much faster, but 24 hours is a good rule of thumb.

If you need to make sure group members are synchronised immediately, you can open the group in the user search. From here, you can open the more menu and click update group.

Update Google Workspace Users and Groups 2

Google Sync Issues

Are you experiencing unexpected issues when it comes to the sync between Google Workspace and Happeo? This may be leading to new users not syncing to Happeo, changes to User Information not being reflected or problems with Group Membership in Happeo. 

To give some insight into the issue: We sync with Google continuously throughout the day. Ever since these issues began we have only been receiving sync updates, once every 6 hours or so, for a total of around 20 minutes per time. This is causing many of the changes made in Google not to sync fully. We know this can be very frustrating but we do have a workaround available:

Once per day (please not more than that):

As mentioned previously, you can go to:

  1. Admin settings
  2. User Management
  3. Google Workspace Settings
  4. Hit the button in the top-right corner, "Sync All Users"

This will force an update and works for syncing and updating your users.

If any users seem to continue to experience an issue, please do not hesitate to submit a support ticket or email support@happeo.com with the email addresses of the affected users. We will investigate ASAP and should resolve it very quickly.