Manage Page-Level Permissions

In this article, you will find all there is to know about Page-level permissions and how an editor of a Page can give individual Page permissions to users

Table of contents

  1. What are page-level permissions?
    1. Page group
    2. Pages
    3. Sub-pages
  2. Types of permissions
    1. Viewer
    2. Editor
  3. How to share a Page group
  4. How to give permissions to users for individual Pages 
    1. What does “Override permissions for this page” mean?
    2. What does permission inheritance mean?
    3. What does assigning “No permissions” entail?
    4. What happens if you toggle off “Override permissions for this Page”?
    5. What happens if you change the Page permissions for a user and then revert them?
  5. Archiving a Page from a Page group

What are page-level permissions?

Page-level permissions refer to the viewing and editing rights an editor of a Page can grant to users per Page (as opposed to all the Pages within a Page group).

Page group

A Page group is a group of Pages. For example, when you view your Pages menu, you can see Page groups. Within those Page groups are Pages. 

Pages

Pages can include any type of content you wish. Pages always belong to a Page group (e.g. in the image below, Happeo News, Helsinki News, Amsterdam News and so on are all Pages that belong to a Page group called "News". 

Sub-pages

Sub-pages and pages within a Page that belongs to a Page group (e.g. in the right-hand image, Press releases is the sub-page of the Happeo news Page that belongs to the News Page group.

Types of permissions

Viewer

A viewer is a user who has given the rights to view either all the Pages within a Page group or specific Pages. They are not able to make any edits to any of the Pages. Viewers of a Page within a Page group will be able to find that Page group in their Pages menu.

Editor

An editor is a user who has permission to edit the contents of either all the Pages within a Page group or a few given Pages. They are able to make edits to the Pages they have been given access to, they can find that Page group in their Pages menu and they can also give access permissions to other users if they have been given editing permissions for the entire Page group. Additionally, editors can add or delete Pages but only, much like with giving access permissions, if they have editing rights to the entire Page group

How to share a Page group

It is important to note that to provide individual Page permissions from a Page group you must first give access to all Pages within a Page group. From there, you can select the Pages to which you do not want a user to have access. 

To share a Page group with a user, navigate to a Page → Edit the Page (using the pencil symbol in the top right corner) → Go to Page group settings (the paper stack icon in the editing menu) → Click on “Share page group” under the description of the Page. 

From there, share the Page group with the user you would like to give access to (you can either give viewing or editing permissions). By doing so, you will give the user access to all of the Pages within the Page group.

Manage Page-Level Permissions 1

How to give permissions to users for individual Pages 

To give individual or specific permissions to a user for a Page, navigate to a Page that you would like to take away the access rights → Override the permissions for that Page (by toggling it) → Click on the section that states the user’s access permissions → Click on “No permissions”. 

You can do this for as many Pages in the Page group you like, however, if a user is given no permissions for all of the Pages, they will not be able to access the Page group (regardless if they have given editing or viewing rights). 

Manage Page-Level Permissions 2

What does “Override permissions for this page” mean?

Overriding the permissions refers to overriding the Page group permissions you previously set which, in turn, allows you to create new permissions for an individual Page within that Page group.

Note that when you override the permissions for a Page, a message will state that the Page’s permissions have been overridden below the Page’s title.

What does permission inheritance mean?

When you give editing or viewing permissions to an organisation or a group for a Page group and then give no permissions to a user (who belongs to the organisation and/or group) for a specific Page, you will receive this message: 

This message states that although you have removed the permissions from the user to edit or view the Page, they will still have that access because the user is part of the organisation or group that has editing or viewing permissions for the Page group.

What does assigning “No permissions” entail?

When you assign a user to have “No permissions” for a Page, that user will not be able to view, edit or find that Page. If this Page includes sub-pages, the user will also not be able to view or access them. 

Not only that, but even if the sub-page’s permissions are overridden, you will not be able to give this user any permissions, only if you give them permissions for the Page itself.

Moreover, when you give “No permissions” to a user, that user will relocate to the bottom of the list of users who do and do not have access to the Page and have a small arrow pointing down, representing that their permissions have been taken away.

This is the same for when you give editing or viewing permissions to a user who once did not have any permissions but instead of an arrow facing down, that arrow will face up. 

What happens if you toggle off “Override permissions for this Page”?

If you first toggle on “Override permissions for this Page”, change the permissions for a user and then toggle off “Override permissions for this Page”, the permissions you changed will revert to what they once were. This will also cause the “Permissions overridden” indication below the title of the Page to go away.

What happens if you change the Page permissions for a user and then revert them?

If you first toggle on “Override permissions for this Page”, change the permissions for a user and then change the permissions back to what they once were, the “Override permissions for this Page” toggle will automatically turn off

Archiving a Page from a Page group

If you wish to archive a Page from a Page group, make sure that you are an editor and that you have editing permissions for the entire Page group. If you are only an editor for the Page that you want to archive, you will not be able to archive it.