1. Happeo Help Center
  2. Getting started
  3. Getting started for administrators

External (Invited) Users

This article aims to provide you with information about external (invited) users, when and how the feature should be used

What are external users?

External users are invited individually or as a Google Group / Microsoft Group to be a part of a specific Channel.

When should you invite external users?

Invitations should be used to invite people that have a Google or Microsoft account but are not part of your Google or Microsoft Organization. This means that the users should not have the same email domain as your company. 

Use cases

Example use cases are external consultants, third-party companies, subsidiaries, etc. External users are a great way to give specific access to content within your Happeo to people outside of your organization.

How does inviting users work?

To add an external (invited) user you will need to be a Happeo Admin, go to:

  1. Admin Settings
  2. User management
  3. Invites

From this section, you will be able to invite users by:

  1. Typing in their email address
  2. Selecting their user role (user or admin)
  3. And clicking on Invite user

You can also monitor invitations that have been sent but not accepted and resend them.

Note: After a user has accepted the invitation, they will no longer appear in the Invited section and will instead appear in the Users section. From there, you can manage their user permissions.

Ways in which users can be invited to the platform 

  • Entire platform: The invite is sent from the Admin section where the account is then treated as any other internal account
  • Channel: External Users are invited individually or as a Google / Microsoft Group to be a part of a specific Channel. This means they will receive access to the Channel but also to the added Google Drive / Microsoft OneDrive folder
  • Page group: External Users can be added to a specific Page Group via a Google / Microsoft Group

Note: With these methods, the users will not automatically receive access to any Drive-related widgets on Pages. Those would need to be shared with the external users still.