Group Sync

Here you will find all there is to know about how Happeo synchronises Google Groups

How to set up a Google Group

Google Groups in Happeo are great for communication, sharing and managing user permissions. To set up a Google Group, please see the instructions here. If you would like to know the best way to set up a Google Group structure you can find our article here

How groups are synced in Happeo

Groups’ metadata (name, ID, email) are polled frequently from the Google Directory so that a new group should appear in Happeo roughly within 24 hours after creating it in Google Workspace.

Please note that members are not synced automatically. The members are updated only after the group is taken into use in Happeo. In other words, members within a group are updated when the group has been added as a participant to a Page or a Channel. Members are not synced or fetched before that.

If you wish to update the members aside from putting it to use in Happeo, you can do so, as a platform admin, by navigating to the Admin settings through your avatar on the top-right menu > Group management > search for the group you wish to sync > click on the three dots next to the group > click on “Update from directory”. Do note that even by performing this action the member changes will not be polled until the group is a participant in some Page or Channel.

Why are new group members not synced automatically?

The reasons as to why new members in a Google group are not synced automatically (if the group is not in use in Happeo) are as follows:

  • Group sync is accomplished by actively polling changes in Google Directory. That's one reason why it is not done for all visible groups automatically
  • Quite often many of the Google groups are not related to Happeo access control as a participant in Pages or Channels. They might be in use in other Google services
  • Groups can also include members that have no relation to Happeo and therefore having them being automatically synced would not be appropriate

Hide groups from search 

Groups can also be hidden from search if needed. This can be done by navigating to the Admin settings > Group management > click on the three dots next to the group you would like to hide from search > click on “Hide from search”. Bear in mind that Happeo does not have access to Google's internal group visibility settings. Happeo uses Admin SDK Directory API to read group names, emails and members. To find more information regarding this please navigate to this link

Moreover, hidden groups will remain visible in a user’s information panel. Happeo cannot hide the members of the groups, as fetching those groups' visibility settings from a Google Workspace would require Admin audit log permissions which Happeo does not have. We, however, understand the importance of this and will find a viable solution in the future.