In this article, you will learn about all the things you can do with Channel folders
What is a Channel folder?
The Channel folder is a Google Drive folder integrated directly with a Happeo Channel. With the folder option you can:
- Navigate folders
- Open, preview, rename, download, and delete files
- Create posts from files
- Create files and folders
- Create files from templates (added by the administrator in the Happeo admin panel)
- View folder activity feed
Important: All channel members will receive edit permissions to the Drive folder when the Channel is shared. This can be changed through your Google settings. Once the settings are changed, Happeo will no longer override them. Alternatively, you can contact our support team and request to have a security measure set up so that users will need to request access to a Channel's files and folders. For more information, please see this article.
How to attach a folder to Channel?
The easiest way to attach a folder is right after creating a new Channel. Just go to the:
- Settings tab
- Scroll down to Tools
- Toggle on Files
- From there, a window will appear where you can select to create:
- A new folder
- New shared Drive
- Select an existing folder
After you've attached a folder through one of the methods described previously, it will be automatically shared with Channel members with editing rights. This will ensure that all members of the Channel always have access to the files.
Happeo also removes the permissions of any members who leave or are removed from the Channel.
Attaching a Team Drive subfolder
If you decide to attach a Team Drive subfolder to a Channel, you will receive a warning that automatic sharing is off. This is due to Google Drive's limitation/feature, which prevents changing the sharing permissions of Team Drive subfolders.
Important: If you choose to select a Team Drive subfolder, you will need to manage the sharing permissions manually from Google Drive UI.
There are currently two limitations to the Folder functionality:
- You can only attach one folder per Channel
- If you change the owner of a Channel, the automatic sharing may not work if the new owner does not have sharing permissions