In this article, you will learn how to create announcement posts for important messages
Please note that announcement posts can be made by owners and editors of a Channel.
Table of contents
- What are announcement posts?
- How does it work?
- How to view users who have and have not read your announcement
- Users who have read your announcement
- Users who have not read your announcement yet (and how to remind users)
- How to change your announcement post details
- Exporting a read list and CSV
What are announcement posts?
In a Channel, you are able to make a post an announcement post. This means that all Channel members will need to confirm that they have read the post. The post will be pinned to the top of the Channel feed and My Stream till the user has confirmed they have read the post.
Using announcement posts will help you get the most important messages across to users via Happeo.
Additionally, by creating an announcement post you will be able to follow how many people have read it and you can send reminders to those who have yet to read it.
How does it work?
- When you share as an announcement, you can select the announcement expiry date
- This can range from 1 day to never
- You can also select a custom date (e.g. November 3rd)
- When you share as an announcement the post will be pinned automatically for every user and unpinned when a user marks it as read
- The user can also mark the post "unread" after reading by clicking the checkmark
- The creator of the announcement post can see who has and who has not read the post and send an email or Happeo reminder to the people who have not read it
Note: any normal post or article post can be turned into an announcement post or any announcement post can be changed into a normal post.
How to view users who have and have not read your announcement
To view the users who have read your announcement post, you can click on "Show details" on the right side of the announcement post.
Users who have read your announcement
By clicking on "Read", you (and editors of the Channel) will find all the users (participants and editors) who have read the announcement. The number next to "Read" indicates the number of users who have read the announcement. For a user to read an announcement, they must click on "Yes, I have read this".
Users who have not read your announcement yet
By clicking on "Unread", you (and editors of the Channel) can view all the users who have not read the announcement yet. Much like before, the number next to "Unread" tells you the number of users who have not read the announcement yet.
You (and editors of the Channel) can also choose to remind individual users or all users to read your announcement.
How to change your announcement post details
By selecting "Settings", you (and editors of the Channel) can edit your announcement expiry date, export a read list to CSV and change the announcement into a regular post.
Note: Once an announcement has expired, it will turn into a normal post.
Exporting a read list and CSV
You (and editors of the Channel) can download a read list or "read report" by clicking on "Export a read list" which includes a list of users who clicked on the "Yes, I have read this" button.
The number of users in the report might differ from the number displayed on the banner of the post. The displayed number on the banner shows all the users who have read the announcement and are still participants of the channel.
The CSV file will contain not only current members of the Channel but all users who might have left the channel.